Vegan in Cowtown: Adventures at the Steakhouse

September 26, 2011 § 2 Comments

Last weekend, I had a friend who wanted to celebrate her birthday in the typical manner, a huge group dinner and then some type of activity afterward. However, since I live in Texas, more specifically in Cowtown, many of my friends remain meat eaters and thus she planned the large dinner at a steakhouse. It was her day and so I didn’t complain, but I definitely wanted to claw my eyes out at the thought of having to sit at a table of 14 plus people at a steakhouse when I am no longer eating animal products.

So, after panic had ensued and I was talked down from a ledge by my mother, I decided I was going to embrace my veganism rather than hiding it. Instead of eating beforehand or skipping dinner entirely, I packed my own vegan products to use for my meal. I ordered a spinach salad with walnuts, tomatoes, and a simple vinaigrette, a side of steamed broccoli, and a plain baked potato with chives on the side. I then used my vegan cheese replacement (Daiya cheddar style), vegan sour cream (Follow Your Heart brand) and vegan butter (Earth Balance brand) to dress it up, and put the broccoli on top to make my own broccoli spud deliciousness. My friends laughed, but I was so proud of myself for not even caring what they thought.

As you become less involved with meat and other animal products, you definitely find more people that think like you falling into your circle of friends. But until your friends join the revolution — or even if they never do — you can still survive by being confident in who you are and having no shame about the mini-Tupperware containers you keep in your purse.

-TLR

§ 2 Responses to Vegan in Cowtown: Adventures at the Steakhouse

  • Ashley says:

    Question, how do you bring the cheese, sour cream and butter? Like in what type of container? I’ve always thought about doing that when I have to go to restaurants where there’s nothing for me to eat, but I could never figure out the logistics.

    • Well, Ziploc makes these tiny containers that are a good size to put in your purse. I bought a pack of them and pack whatever I think I may need. Helps to know what you are ordering beforehand, too!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Vegan in Cowtown: Adventures at the Steakhouse at vegetariantiff.

meta

